My new obsession

I’m not sure how, exactly, I came across this site today. I tend to have an obscene amount of browser windows open at any given moment covering a variety of topics. My attention span is short, lol.

Anyway, so I found this place and I immediately fell in love. Its a website dedicated to archiving important/influential American cookbooks from the late 18th-early 20th century. I always love reading/learning about how past generations lived. I love reading about how they lived, worked, ate, made do. It’s always interesting to read the same advice that stands the test of time – live below your means, don’t be wasteful, etc.

The first one I downloaded was “The Frugal Housewife, Dedicated to Those Who Are Not Ashamed of Economy.”   It immediately captured my attention within the very 2nd paragraph with the following: “‘Time is money.’ For this reason, cheap as stockings are, it is good economy to knit them. Cotton and woollen yarn are both cheap; hose that are knit wear twice as long as woven ones; and they can be done at odd minutes of time, which would not be otherwise employed!”

How smart! As a knitter, I already grasp the concept of making use of free moments. I can’t just sit and watch TV or a movie at home – I have to knit at the same time. I just can’t sit idly – knitting while I watch means I’m still being productive in some fashion, even if my knitting isn’t really a necessity (because let’s face it – those of us who knit do it for the pleasure of it, certainly not because we have to to have socks and sweaters!).

I can’t wait to read through all of this one I’ve downloaded and explore some of the cook books and their recipes!

About Fail Better Farm Girl

I'm a city girl with dreams of someday having my own little farm in the country. In the meantime, I'm learning as I go at "Fail Better Farm" - the nickname I've given my urban homesteading adventures.

Leave a Reply

