I got nothing. Except this quilt.

I was a huge slacker this weekend around the house. Sure, there was garden work to do. And there might have been winter prep to get started. But did I do any of that? Nope. Instead, I worked on finishing this. A baby quilt for someone (not me). It’s really imperfect. The corners don’t match up perfectly in the center. And the bandannas weren’t even close to being perfectly square after I washed them. But I had already bought them and washed them and was determined to just make do and use them anyway, crappy sewing skills and bad fabric choices be damned. Because babies don’t care about any of that, right?

This quilt is 4 bandanna squares for the top, a layer of white flannel for whats supposed to be the batting and a layer of the crosshatch flannel for the back. There’s no binding around the edge, I just sewed it all up and turned it right-side-out and then tied yarn all over it to hold the layers in place. I have no idea how to properly quilt – the few attempts I’ve made have turned out pretty bad. Warm, but bad. And binding? How the hell does that work without looking wonky?

About Fail Better Farm Girl

I'm a city girl with dreams of someday having my own little farm in the country. In the meantime, I'm learning as I go at "Fail Better Farm" - the nickname I've given my urban homesteading adventures.

Leave a Reply

