A little shopping adventure

Yesterday the husband and I took a little shopping adventure to Lehman’s to see what it was all about. They have this massive store in Ohio in Amish Country and I’m not going to lie – I was pretty overwhelmed. There was just SO MUCH to look at. And there were so many people there, which made navigating to see everything worse.

Part of me loved the place, part of me hated it. I did find the Tattler canning lids I’ve been wanting to buy so I snatched those up. There was definitely a lot of interesting things there. But, like I said, it was very overwhelming. A lot of things that I wouldn’t buy or couldn’t buy. I think part of it was that I didn’t have a plan set before I went to the store – I didn’t have a list of things that I wanted to get that I could find there (except for the canning lids). There were things that I’d love to someday have… but there was a lot of just… stuff.

The biggest score of the day was at their Outlet store located right behind the main store. It was this tiny little shop that was just some rows of shelves piled up with things for sale. It reminded me of going to a Goodwill in that its just a mix of everything for sale. But, lo and behold, I found the thing I’ve been wishing for ever since I had to stand and peel all those apples by hand a few weeks go: an apple peeler/corer! The peeler was marked down to $10 simply because it was used (which… I don’t understand. You can’t return most items to most stores once they’ve been used unless they’re broken, but this one is perfectly fine…. but, I also shop at the Goodwill so I’m not one to shy away from used things so whatever). But then I got up to pay at the counter and it rang up as $5 – HELL YEAH! Now next year when we go apple picking I won’t have to hand peel all of them. And next year I think I’ll get a full bushel now that I’ve got this.

Also, there was a spinning wheel sitting there. In the outlet. Right in the middle of an aisle – which excited me greatly!  Until I started to mess with it. It was a Green Mountain wheel… but this one wasn’t working. Someone had been messing with it and had taken the flyer out of the maidens so I set it back up. Getting that back on was difficult, and then I tried to treadle it… which wasn’t happening. It was difficult at best. Also… and I didn’t pay 100% attention to this because I knew I couldn’t take it home with me anyway… I’m pretty positive the price tag on it said $400-something for it and it had a broken leg (which that may have contributed to the treadling issues). A new (unbroken) one is $500… so a broken one seems hardly worth $400-something to me.

 

Anyway.

The rest of the trip was overwhelmingly disappointing. The view on the drive was nice, but we drove down to Berlin to peruse some of the local shops. Sadly it was a lot of the same stuff. A lot of shops selling primitive decor. It just all looked the same to me no matter what shop we were in. There was a shop labeled as fabric, scrapbooking, and wool and I got excited thinking maybe I’d find some yarn. I always look for yarn when we go on trips – I like bringing back a skein or two with me so I can knit something up to remember the trip by. They only had a small corner of it, however, and it wasn’t anything I couldn’t already get at my local shops. Disappointing 😦

I think next time we decide to make a long-distance trip that direction we’ll stop by some of the other areas (Sugarcreek, Walnut Creek, etc). If I remember right, the last time I was there (a loooong time ago) it was less busy and some more interesting shops. And probably get a hotel and stay the night, because the drive time there and back was reallllllly long. And long drives without being able to knit (damn my tendencies to get car sick so easily) makes it kinda torturous.

About Fail Better Farm Girl

I'm a city girl with dreams of someday having my own little farm in the country. In the meantime, I'm learning as I go at "Fail Better Farm" - the nickname I've given my urban homesteading adventures.

Leave a Reply

