Chili for a week

It’s that time of year again – the time of year where we can fix a pot of chili and eat it for a week!

Chili is one of those things that everyone makes differently. Some like it thick, some like it soup-like. Some like chunks of peppers and onions, some don’t like any at all.

The Mr makes an AWESOME chili that I absolutely love, though I do make a teeny modification to my own bowl. We make so much of it that we end up eating it for nearly a week straight.  Best of all, it’s a one-pot dish! Here’s what we do:

  • 2lbs ground meat of choice (we have deer/venison in the freezer currently so we use that, but we’ve also used hamburger, pork, and turkey)
  • 2 cans tomato juice
  • 2 green bell peppers, chopped
  • 3-5 small-to-medium onions, chopped
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • Chili pepper, red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper to taste (this is really a personal preference thing – you don’t want the chili to taste too tomato-y, but I also prefer mine to not be so spicy that I can barely eat it.)
Brown up the meat in your big pot. If you need to drain it then do so (our venison had very little grease to it so we skip this step a lot). Add in the peppers and onions to cook just slightly – you don’t want them raw, but you don’t want them so cooked that they’re mushy. Add in the beans and tomato juice, and then season to taste. Cook, covered, for a few hours on medium low – the flavor/heat of ours tends to increase as we cook it, so if you add your spices but aren’t sure if you should add more or not, give it an hour or so and then come back and taste-test and see.
We make ours up on a Saturday or Sunday around lunch time and let it cook until we’re ready to eat it for dinner.  If you’ve got a lot of ‘filler’ left as you eat it (the meat and veggies), you can add a 3rd can of juice and more spices to stretch the meal further. We do this about 50% of the time – depending on if we’re getting sick of chili yet.
The only thing I do differently with my own bowl is that I add some brown sugar. I find that brown sugar tames some of the spiciness if we accidentally make it too hot, and it just adds a nice flavor IMO.
About Fail Better Farm Girl

I'm a city girl with dreams of someday having my own little farm in the country. In the meantime, I'm learning as I go at "Fail Better Farm" - the nickname I've given my urban homesteading adventures.

Leave a Reply

