I hate this time of year

I think I’ve been neglecting this place because life has just been so busy with the holidays and all. Also, gardening in Ohio in the colder weather/winter is pretty much not happening. We’re city dwellers in a town that doesn’t allow even a chicken in your back yard, so there’s really nothing to do around here. No animals to feed or clean up after, no gardens to tend, no wood to chop and ready for the fireplace. There’s really absolutely nothing to do around here except hunker down and wait out the winter and plan for next spring.

This time of year makes me stir-crazy. I can’t handle being cooped up indoors all the time. Sure, I have knitting and such I can do. But it’s not the same as being able to dig into the dirt. Or smell that scent the tomatoes leave on my hands. Its gotten to the point where we’ve been hitting the stores a lot more often – not to buy, but to just get out of the house. You know what I’ve learned? There are an assload of people out buying a bunch of cheap crap for holiday gifts (which I don’t even understand, but I’m a big proponent of handmade and/or quality over quantity), and that there is NO GARDENING stuff in the middle of December. Did you know that? Shocking, right?! I mean, who would have thought that no one would be gardening in the middle of December in Ohio?

Anyway.

I feel like – blogging here – I’m trying to make something interesting that just… isn’t interesting. At least not at this point in time. We’re just kind of holed up here. There’s just not anything going on. Trellises need built but have to wait until spring. Veggies can’t be started under the grow light yet. There’s literally nothing to do. It feels so… lame.

About Fail Better Farm Girl

I'm a city girl with dreams of someday having my own little farm in the country. In the meantime, I'm learning as I go at "Fail Better Farm" - the nickname I've given my urban homesteading adventures.

Leave a Reply

